This gorgeous girl


She is a kid. She does bad things. She is normal. 

But, reflecting on how much she has changed and grown over the past year makes me smile and want to cry at the same time. 

She is kind hearted, helpful, loving, caring, thoughtful, smart, beautiful, special…my first love. 

She helps me pour milk at dinner or with other things. She offers her help when I am cleaning or organizing. 

She cleans up after her sisters even though the mess was not hers. 

She is bright and enthusiastic. I thought last summer she was never going to learn to read. I wanted to rip my ears off listening to her try. But now, she can read all by herself. She can write in cursive. 

She is creative and appreciates my creativity. 

I enjoy talking to her and teaching her new things, and sometimes she even teaches me something new. 

I enjoy my journey with her. Watching her discover life and learn new things. She has taken the divorce as easy as any kid can. 

Although, it makes me sad. My baby is not a baby. She is my daughter and my friend. As time goes on, she will need me less and less. 

I will hold on as much as I can. She wrote us a little note. The spelling errors make it special. The simple request to cuddle will not be ignored. 


I want her to grow, flourish and never forget that I will always be there for her. 

I want her to know how proud I am of her. 

My baby is not a baby, and it breaks my heart. But, watching her navigate through life is rewarding, because I know who she is, is partly because of who I am. 

She has a beautiful little soul, and I see great things happening for her in life. 

Leave a Reply

