What it is like being married to a cop….

– Hey this is cool, he looks hot in his uniform. A gun and a badge. Nice. 

– Man, he is at work a lot. Let me turn on the news to see if I can see him at the scene of that shooting!

– Yeah, I can work more hours. It doesn’t matter, he won’t be home until late. 

– He had a late arrest, I guess I will cuddle with the dog. 

– Congratulations! It’s a girl! Awww, we are going to be a great family. I love her so much already. 

– Oh my god! I have no peace. This mom stuff is hard work alone. 

– I feel like a single mother. Something has got to give. 

– Oh great! He got hired with a different department closer to home. This should be better. 

– These rotating shifts are hard to adjust to weekly. But, at least some days he is home, as long as he doesn’t have court. 

– Oh, you got lonely or bored on your overnight shift. Sorry I am not good enough for you. I don’t know if I can get past this. 

– It is over. We can keep this family together. Let’s have another kid. 

– Congratulations! It’s a girl! Whew, this is going to be tough. Luckily he is around a little more. 

– Congratulations! It’s another girl. Ooops! But, I love her so much. 

– Man am I tired. Three kids. Two of which are a year apart. It is tough taking care of a toddler and newborn at the same time alone. 

– I am going to lose it. No breaks. Tired. Stressed. Where is my partner in all of this? 

– I hate that he gets to leave the house. I feel like a prisoner. 

– I hate my life. I have nothing to look forward to. I hate myself. What have I become? 

– Things have got to change. I am unhappy. I don’t trust him, and I resent him. 

– I don’t want to be with him anymore. I am lonely, depressed and lost. I do everything alone. I might as well just be a single mom. I feel like I have a roommate instead of a husband. 

– This is not living. It’s over. 

12 years, in a nutshell. 

Leave a Reply

